Stay Connected  Follow abhisays on Twitter   Connect to abhisays on Facebook  

Last Updated: July 5, 2009  410 views

Roger Federer wins 15th Grand Slam title

in: Hot Shot

Roger FedererRoger Federer has won Wimbledon finals against Andy Roddick in five dramatic sets and regained the title he lost to Rafael Nadal last year. This is his sixth Wimbledon title and 15th Grand Slam title. He has also broken the record of Pete Sampras. The Swiss Champion Tennis player won 5-7 7-6 (8-6) 7-6 (7-5) 3-6 16-14 and surpassed Sampras’s 14 Grand Slam wins. He has also become world’ number one tennis player. After losing the finals Roddick said “I just want to say congratulations to Roger, he deserves everything he gets” Federer is also the only player in tennis history to win the same two Grand Slam tournaments back to back for four consecutive years (2004-07).

Roger Federer Grand Slam Titles ::

Roger Federer

Grand Slam Titles Record Holders::

15 – Roger Federer
14 – Pete Sampras
12 – Roy Emerson
11 – Rod Laver
11 – Bjorn Borg
10 – Bill Tilden
8 – Ken Rosewall
8 – Ivan Lendl
8 – Andre Agassi
8 – Jimmy Connors
8 – Fred Perry

  • 1

    good articel i like your blog good info and nice 🙂

    kangjoko on July 6th, 2009