Stay Connected  Follow abhisays on Twitter   Connect to abhisays on Facebook  

Last Updated: September 28, 2014  586 views

World Cup Football Winners

in: Hot Shot

So after four years of long wait, the FIFA World Cup tournament is back in action. This year, it is going to be held in South Africa, between 11 June and 11 July 2010. World Cup Football fever has already gripped the whole world. In this tournament, world’s strongest football teams will compete against each for the title of World Champion in Football. Till now 18 World Cup Football tournaments that have been held, seven nations have won the title. Brazil is on top with record five times. Moreover, Brazil is the only nation which have played in every tournament. Italy is the current champion. They also have won four World Cup titles, and Germany are next with three titles. The other former champions are Uruguay (2), Argentina (2), England (1) and France (1).

In 1928, FIFA president Jules Rimet decided to organize an international football tournament. Finally in 1930, it was held in Uruguay and was contested 13 teams. There were no qualifying rounds, all the teams were invited by FIFA. The world cup trophy was named Jules Rimet Trophy. In the final, Uruguay defeated Argentina 4-2 and became the first nation to win the World Cup Football. Let’s see the list of World Cup Football Winners.

world cup football trophy

Year Host Country Winner Score
1930 Uruguay Uruguay Uruguay 4-2 Argentina
1934 Italy Italy Italy 2-1 Czechoslovakia
1938 France Italy Italy 4-2 Hungary
1942 not held due to World War
1946 not held due to World War
1950 Brazil Uruguay Uruguay 2-1 Brazil
1954 Switzerland Germany Germany 3-2 Hungary
1958 Sweden Brazil Brazil 5-2 Sweden
1962 Chile Brazil Brazil 3-1 Czechoslovakia
1966 England England England 4-2 Germany
1970 Mexico Brazil Brazil 4-1 Italy
1974 Germany Germany Germany 2-1 Holland
1978 Argentina Argentina Argentina 3-1 Holland
1982 Spain Italy Italy 3-1 Germany
1986 Mexico Argentina Argentina 3-2 Germany
1990 Italy Germany Germany 1-0 Argentina
1994 US Brazil Brazil 3-2 Italy
1998 France France France 3-0 Brazil
2002 Japan / S. Korea Brazil Brazil 2-0 Germany
2006 Germany Italy Italy 1-1 (5-3) France
2010 South Africa

  • 1

    This time, England will win the world cup.

    Sachin on May 24th, 2010
  • 2

    Maradona is the best footballer in the world. Thanks for showing his image in this article.

    Ron on June 1st, 2010
  • 3

    me gusto todo mi pais faborito es argentina un pais triunfador super

    luisa on June 17th, 2010
  • 4

    germany will clinch this world cup 2010

    sameer on July 7th, 2010